Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

29 July 2015

The Polish Bar Late Summer 2015 Collection (Partial), Swatches and Review

Hello everyone! I’m back with a few polishes from The Polish Bar’s Late Summer 2015 collection. I’ve had the pleasure to review The Polish Bar several times (hereherehere, and here) and these did not disappoint. The collection consists of seven polishes named after some gorgeous beaches scattered around the globe. I reviewed four - two holos and two crellies. In short, I found the crellies slightly difficult to work with, but still very good polishes. The holos are excellent and my favourite Polish Bar polishes to date.

The Polish Bar Late Summer 2015 Collection (Partial)
Read on for more details about each polish…

12 May 2015

Bellaluna Cosmetics Dreams Come True Collection (Partial), Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I've been absent I know - work and life has been keeping me busy. For the last several months I've been job hunting and I'm finally happy to say that I got a full time job for this school year (I teach university). Yay! I'll be honest, I don't know what it means for this blog but I'll post some sort of update when I am able to.

Bellaluna Dreams Come True collection (partial)

The Bellaluna Dreams Come True collection is based on Disney fairy tales. These have been out for awhile but they are still available, so if you see something you like, I encourage you to check out Samantha's Etsy shop. I'll review each polish individually then offer some thoughts at the end.

22 December 2014

Bellaluna Cosmetics Holiday Glimmer and Snowden, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I have a new indie brand on the blog tonight. Bellaluna Cosmetics is based in the US and opened their Etsy store last month. I was pleasantly surprised with their offerings - they have a nice selection of shimmers and glitters, and the quality is very good for a new brand. I got two polishes from the winter collection, but really you could enjoy these year round.

Bellaluna Snowden and Holiday Glimmer

17 December 2014

Live Love Polish Review: UNT Pastels

Hi everyone! I've got some gorgeous pastel shades from online retailer Live Love Polish for you tonight. Live Love Polish is based out of New York and they have a wide variety of mainstream brand polishes, and some indie brands too. I was sent a few polishes from UNT to review - this is a brand based out of Taiwan and Live Love Polish is the only US store to carry them. LLP carries a wide range of UNT polishes, so if you like these, definitely check out their site!

Live Love Polish UNT review

Although pastels don't really seem appropriate for winter, I've been enjoying these lighter shades. You can see them in my recent intricate floral nail art, and my pastel snowflakes. As far as cremes go, these polishes are great for wearing on their own, using as a base for glitter, or using in nail art.

08 December 2014

Cirque Colors Live It Up Collection, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I have the latest collection from Cirque Colors for you tonight. When it comes to indie polish, Cirque is known for their high quality lacquers, packaging and promotional material. I love splurging on their polishes, and I've never been disappointed by this brand. So of course I jumped at the opportunity to review them. The Live It Up collection is a set of five glitter toppers, perfect for the holidays and New Year.

Cirque Live It Up collection

04 December 2014

The Polish Bar Winter 2014 Collection, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I'm back with a beautiful winter collection for you. When I think of holos, one of the brands that comes to mind is The Polish Bar. Janice always does such beautiful holos, ones that have the perfect balance of colour and rainbow effect. So I was very excited to see the gorgeous colours in her winter collection, which are paired with very celestial names. And I couldn't resist taking lots of pictures of these.

The Polish Bar Winter 2014 Collection

25 November 2014

Aliquid Lacquer First Fantastiversary Collection, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! You may have seen my reviews of Aliquid Lacquer on this blog. Well now the brand turns one, and Alison has put together three polishes for the occasion. I'll also be giving you the scoop on different deals and events running this week.

Aliquid Lacqeur Arsty, Dogged, and Gregarious
Aliquid Lacqeur Artsy, Dogged, and Gregarious

24 November 2014

A England Elizabeth & Mary Collection, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! Unless you've been in a Buddhist monastery for the last month or so, completely shut off from the outside world, I'm sure you have by now heard of the new A England Elizabeth & Mary collection. I gave you a sneak peak last week when I did stained glass roses using four out of the five polishes in the collection. I'm back now with a full review. If you haven't yet picked up anything from this collection, or you are not sure if you need these polishes (short answer - yes you need them!),  I hope my swatches will help.

A England Elizabeth & Mary Collection
A England Elizabeth & Mary Collection

20 November 2014

Girly Bits A Twinkle in Time: Swatches, Review and Nail Art

Hi everyone! Girly Bits A Twinkle in Time is the December contribution to Llarowe's A Box, Indied subscription box. I've had the pleasure of reviewing several Girly Bits polishes for this box, and all of them have been fabulous. This one is no different and fits the holiday theme of the box perfectly. I also decided to do some simple nail art with this polish, something that would be perfect for a holiday party or whenever you want a touch of shimmer.

Girly Bits A Twinkle in Time glitter gradient nail art
Girly Bits A Twinkle in Time glitter gradient nail art

06 November 2014

Spell Polish Eye of Newt, Lizard's Leg, and Tongue of Dog: Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! Today I have a brand that's new to this blog. Spell Polish comes out of New York, and I'll admit I was really excited when the maker Heatheraven contacted me. This brand has some of the best packaging in the industry (as you can see from this nail mail photo on my Instagram), and every time I look at the site, I get serious logo envy. But they also have a wide array of fun colours including holos, shimmers, glitters, multi chromes, and neons. I was sent three polishes from the "A Charm of Powerful Trouble" collection inspired by Macbeth.

Spell Polish
Spell Polish: Lizard's Leg, Tongue of Dog, Eye of Newt


05 November 2014

Mentality Nail Polish Glazes: Swatches, Review and Nail Art

Hi everyone! In the indie scene, Mentality Nail Polish is known for their bare bones, minimal labelling and packaging, and their wide array of colours and finishes that are perfect for all kinds of nail art. Their "no frills" style is appealing and means that they are more affordable than many indie polishes on the market. I was fortunate enough to receive some gorgeous nail mail from Hillary and Danny, the husband and wife team behind the brand. So expect to see some Mentality features over the next few weeks on this blog!

Mentality Nail Polish Glazes: Swatches, Review and Nail Art
Mentality Nail Polish Glazes: Swatches, Review and Nail Art

Today I'm reviewing four polishes from their Glaze line - Yellow, Coral, Aqua and Red-Purple. I've also got some intricate geometric nail art for you, so make sure to check out the rest of the post!

31 October 2014

Splendor Lacquer: The Private Eyes Collection

Hi everyone! I have a new Canadian indie brand for you today that hails out of chilly Winnipeg, Manitoba. With so many new indies popping up everyday I am sometimes hesitant to review for new brands. However, Leslee, the maker won me over with her professionalism. I get a good sense from brands that are very organized and professional in their dealings with bloggers, because I know they will also treat customers that way too.

Splendor Lacquer - The Private Eyes Collection

27 October 2014

Introducing Never Nude: My piCture pOlish Collaboration Shade

Hi everyone! I'm so excited to be finally writing this post. You may or may not recall, but last year after piCture pOlish's blog fest I was chosen by my peers, the other bloggers participating, to win one of three awards. The prize - the opportunity to design a collaboration shade with the ladies at piCture pOlish - a dream come true for any polish blogger! Now, after 14 months, and three rounds of testing, I'm so happy to introduce my "baby"... Never Nude!

piCture pOlish Never Nude
piCture pOlish Never Nude

21 October 2014

Pixi Nail Colour in Classy Cocoa: Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! If you're in the US, shopping at Target might not be that big of a deal. But here in Canada, where Target only arrived about a year ago, it still feels like a new thing. Along with the arrival of Target also came some new brands that previously were difficult to get. One of those brands was Pixi by Petra, one I've had my eye on for awhile.

Pixi Nail Colour in Classy Cocoa
Pixi Nail Colour in Classy Cocoa

07 October 2014

Aliquid Lacquer Puppy Love: Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! Tonight's review features a polish that is not only incredibly gorgeous, but also supports a good cause. Don't you love when that happens?! Aliquid Lacquer's Puppy Love is a limited edition polish only available in October for Adopt a Shelter Dog Month. Five dollars from every polish sold goes to the ASPCA (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals). If you haven't checked out Aliquid Lacquer's shop, you need to go change that now!

Aliquid Lacquer Puppy Love
Aliquid Lacquer Puppy Love

24 September 2014

Bonita Salon Witches Ball Collection For Halloween 2014

Hi everyone! Lately I've been feeling bored when it comes to drugstore polishes, but that changed when I saw my friend Lindsey's swatches of Bonita Colors over at Wondrously Polished. Bonita Colors is a new brand that came on the market earlier this year. They have several different lines, the Salon line is supposed to be their more expensive line, but at $3.99 a pop they are incredibly cheap.

Bonita Salon Witches Ball Collection Halloween 2014
Bonita Salon Witches Ball Collection Halloween 2014

Unfortunately they are not available in Canada, so when I'm in the US I beg someone to take me to Rite Aid so I can pick some up. I was able to get this Halloween collection a few weeks ago, thanks to my friend Joy. Thanks Joy!

17 September 2014

KBShimmer Fall 2014: Flannel Surfing, How You Dune?, and Kiss and Spell

Hi everyone! KBShimmer released their latest collection on Monday, and in case you're still debating what to get, I have some swatches that might help. I look forward to seeing what they will come out with each season, and this collection has been particularly strong. Luckily, Harlow & Co. sent me some to review, so read on to hear my thoughts on these!



08 September 2014

Mrs. P's Nail Potions, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I have another Canadian indie brand that's new to this blog. Mrs. P's Nail Potions hails from Edmonton (brrrr!!) and I've known about the brand for awhile but only recently got the chance to try them when Bree, the maker, reached out and asked me to review some.



The brand is mostly known for their thermal polishes (called mood potions), scented top coats, and colour-shifting sheer polishes. They also have some regular glitters and crellies with glitter. I was sent two thermals and a crelly to try out, so read on to hear my thoughts on these polishes.

01 September 2014

Amazing Chic Nails, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! I have a few polishes from a relatively new Canadian indie brand for you tonight. I first found out about Amazing Chic Nails because I'm in a group for Canadian indie makers along with Fiona, the maker. Even though she's one of the new kids on the block, Fiona has some great colours, and the formula of her polishes are spot on.

Amazing Chic Nails handcrafted nail polish
Amazing Chic Nails handcrafted nail polish

I'm reviewing two shades from the Late Summer collection, and two from the Autumn collection. The Autumn collection is available starting today (September 1st) at noon.


11 August 2014

Finger Paints Poolside Paradise Collection, Swatches and Review

Hi everyone! Do you ever buy a collection because it looked so great in swatches or bottle shots, only to feel "meh" about them in person? I think that would be an apt way to describe my feelings about this summer collection from Finger Paints.

Finger Paints Poolside Paradise Collection
Finger Paints Poolside Paradise Collection

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...